Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

km00
    Participant

I graduated this year with a law degree and will be working full-time as a paralegal at a regional law firm and will be studying the LPC part-time over 2 years.

Although the firm can offer training contracts, it is based on merit and paralegals must have worked for at least 18 months before ever being considered (keeping in mind that the firm only hires trainees from its paralegal pool and there are so many of us this year!!).

I am extremely grateful to have been given a job in my chosen field straight after University and with little experience, yet after reading so many articles on paralegals working for years without ever seeing a training contract offer or falling victim of false promises, I am somewhat worried.

This job will allow me to pay for the LPC and remain debt free as I’ve chosen a relatively cheaper provider outside London.

My plan is to apply for training contracts outside the firm once the two years are up i.e. once i finish the LPC and keep working until I find better opportunities. Is this a reasonable approach? Should I work on standing out as a paralegal instead and hope for the best? are my worries unfounded?

2 users thanked author for this post.

northbank
    Participant

Awarding training contracts obviously isn’t entirely based on merit if you have to have been there for a substantial period to even qualify for consideration. No reason why a paralegal of 18 months+ is inherently a better candidate than a fresh grad, especially if they are recruiting a year or two in advance. It is a policy to try and entice paralegals to stay – not saying that’s a necessarily unreasonable policy from the firm, but don’t sell it as being completely based on merit because it isn’t.